Permanently Deleting a File

by Barry Dysert
(last updated January 22, 2018)

By default, most files that you delete from your system are not physically deleted. Instead, they are moved to the Recycle Bin. This is so you can recover a deleted file if you later discover that you actually needed it. However, if you're sure that you truly want to permanently delete a file (thus bypassing the protection the Recycle Bin affords you), it's easy to do.

If you're using Windows Explorer (Windows 7) or File Explorer (Windows 8 and Windows 10), there are a couple of ways to delete a file. One way is to select the file (i.e., single-click the file name) and press the keyboard's Delete key. Another way is to right-click the file and select Delete from the Context menu. In either case, the file is moved to the Recycle Bin. If, instead, you want to permanently delete the file, just hold down the Shift key when performing the delete. The file is permanently deleted and not stored in the Recycle Bin.

There is a known problem in Windows whereby using the keyboard to do a Shift+Delete doesn't always permanently delete the file. This can be troublesome, especially if the file you're trying to delete is very large. There seems to be no such problem, though, permanently deleting the file by holding Shift and deleting the file via the Context menu.

You should also be aware that if you use the command prompt, any files you delete from there will not end up in the Recycle Bin. They will, instead, bypass the bin and be permanently deleted.

 This tip (12430) applies to Windows 7, 8, and 10.

Author Bio

Barry Dysert

Barry has been a computer professional for over 35 years, working in different positions such as technical team leader, project manager, and software developer. He is currently a software engineer with an emphasis on developing custom applications under Microsoft Windows. When not working with Windows or writing Tips, Barry is an amateur writer. His first non-fiction book is titled "A Chronological Commentary of Revelation." ...

MORE FROM BARRY

Understanding Windows Aero

Windows Aero, first introduced with Windows Vista, provides a nice visual experience when working on your computer. And ...

Discover More

Repairing Your System Using a System Repair Disk

If your system gets into a state where it cannot be started normally, this tip presents you with options of how you can ...

Discover More

Modifying Your Hosts File

Your Hosts file is an important file as far as network communications go, and you can easily edit it to suit your needs. ...

Discover More
More WindowsTips

Using Offline Files

If you need access to files on a network but aren't always on the network, you may find that the offline files feature of ...

Discover More

Ways to Combine Two (or More) Text Files

There have probably been times when you've wanted to combine two or more text files into one. Windows provides a few ...

Discover More

Getting Rid of Hidden Thumbs.db Files

A hidden file that the system uses to speed performance of your viewing folders containing pictures is called Thumbs.db. ...

Discover More
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

View most recent newsletter.

Comments

If you would like to add an image to your comment (not an avatar, but an image to help in making the point of your comment), include the characters [{fig}] in your comment text. You’ll be prompted to upload your image when you submit the comment. Maximum image size is 6Mpixels. Images larger than 600px wide or 1000px tall will be reduced. Up to three images may be included in a comment. All images are subject to review. Commenting privileges may be curtailed if inappropriate images are posted.

What is 4 + 1?

There are currently no comments for this tip. (Be the first to leave your comment—just use the simple form above!)


Newest Tips
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

(Your e-mail address is not shared with anyone, ever.)

View the most recent newsletter.