Downloads and Storage Sense

by Eric Wyatt
(last updated September 14, 2020)

Recently a reader, Hazel, described a problem she had with a service technician and her Windows laptop. In her e-mail, she mentions that her laptop was having problems and she enlisted a technician to work on it. In doing so the technician became vehement that she must remove all the items from her My Downloads folder, and without permission moved the contents of that folder to another folder. She questioned why the technician would insist on changing her computer setup. Without much more information I assume it was one of two reasons: The technician may have been either: concerned about the My Downloads folder's size or it could be a decision relating to the Storage Sense feature available within Windows 10.

I believe that the issue had more to do with the second option, Storage Sense. In another article, we talked about how to Get a Sense of Your Storage with regards to Storage Sense. Following the steps in that article to access the Storage Sense settings, you come to the "Delete files in my Downloads folder if they have been there for over" section. Windows provided five options—Never, 1 Day, 14 Days, 30 Days, or 60 Days. If any option other than "Never" is selected Windows may delete files within the My Downloads folder without any warning or notification.

If you, like many computer users, download a large number of files into your My Downloads folder to then work from that folder rather than moving the files out AND you have Storage Sense enabled, you will want to make one of two suggested changes. The first option is to turn off that portion of Storage Sense, preventing your computer from clearing out those potentially important items. The second option, and the one I would recommend, stop working from your download folder; after downloading your files, move them to a logical (to you) location. The reason for choosing the second option is that you never know if a future update could possibly or potentially turn that Storage Sense setting back on by default and then, as a result, delete files without your knowledge. It is not uncommon, even if it's unintended, for this to happen. Recently Adobe Systems, makers of Photoshop and other creative programs, made the news because they updated a much-used program that resulted in users' photo libraries being deleted, with no way to recover the photos.

As with any settings on your computer, it is best to set up your computer the way that works best for you while securing your files.

 This tip (8014) applies to Windows 10.

Author Bio

Eric Wyatt

Eric Wyatt is a swell guy (or so his friends tell him). He is a formally trained designer and branding expert, bringing a wide range of skills to his Tips.Net articles. ...

MORE FROM ERIC

Getting Started with the Mail App

The Mail app is a great way to access your e-mail. This tip shows you how to get started quickly and easily.

Discover More

Configuring Windows' Secret Start Menu

You can quickly access either Command Prompt or PowerShell by using the Win+X shortcut key command. But which one is ...

Discover More

Notice Your Notifications

Windows 10, by default, displays alerts or notifications for five seconds. If that's not enough time, you can increase ...

Discover More
More WindowsTips

Understanding Windows Firewall

There are a lot of malicious users on the Internet who are trying to break into other people's systems. One way to ...

Discover More

Using Desktop Themes

Desktop themes allow you to quickly and easily personalize your system so that what you see and hear while working can be ...

Discover More

Remove Shortcut when You Make a Shortcut

When you create a shortcut in Windows 10, by default the text "- Shortcut" is added to the end of the shortcut's name. By ...

Discover More
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

View most recent newsletter.

Comments

If you would like to add an image to your comment (not an avatar, but an image to help in making the point of your comment), include the characters [{fig}] in your comment text. You’ll be prompted to upload your image when you submit the comment. Maximum image size is 6Mpixels. Images larger than 600px wide or 1000px tall will be reduced. Up to three images may be included in a comment. All images are subject to review. Commenting privileges may be curtailed if inappropriate images are posted.

What is five more than 7?

There are currently no comments for this tip. (Be the first to leave your comment—just use the simple form above!)


Newest Tips
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

(Your e-mail address is not shared with anyone, ever.)

View the most recent newsletter.