Undoing a System Restore

by Barry Dysert
(last updated April 21, 2014)

If you ever had to perform a System Restore but then realized that you shouldn't have done the restore after all, Windows provides the capability of undoing the restore, thereby setting the system state back to the way it was prior to the restore.

To do this, click Start, right-click on Computer, and then click on Properties. On the screen that appears, click the System Protection, near the upper-left of the screen. Windows displays the System Protection tab of the System Properties dialog box. (See Figure 1.)

Figure 1. Preparing to undo a system restore.

Click the System Restore button just as if you were going to do a restore. Windows displays the System Restore dialog box, which is actually the first step of a wizard. (See Figure 2.)

Figure 2. Undoing a system restore.

We now have the (pre-selected) option of undoing the restore we did at the time given. Assuming you want to go through with undoing the restore, leave this radio button selected and click Next. You'll then see the next step of the wizard, confirming that you want to undo the restore. Click Finish and Windows, being very cautious, asks you to confirm you really want to proceed. (See Figure 3.)

Figure 3. Proceeding with undoing the restore.

Clicking Yes on this final screen will start the undo process, which cannot be interrupted so be sure you've selected the right restore point, and that you're ready to have the process begin. Once the operation has completed and the system rebooted, it will now be in the state it was in prior to the original restore being applied.

 This tip (13076) applies to Windows 7.

Author Bio

Barry Dysert

Barry has been a computer professional for over 30 years, working in different positions such as technical team leader, project manager, and software developer.  He is currently a senior software engineer with an emphasis on developing custom applications under Microsoft Windows. ...

MORE FROM BARRY

Moving and Sizing Windows Using the Keyboard

Moving and sizing windows is a normal part of using the Windows operating system. There are times when you may want to do ...

Discover More

Resetting a Web Browser to Its Default Settings

We can make a lot of adjustments to our Web browser over time. If you ever want to restore your browser to its original ...

Discover More

Using Offline Files

If you need access to files on a network but aren't always on the network, you may find that the offline files feature of ...

Discover More
More WindowsTips

Understanding Storage Spaces

Need to add some addition drive space to your system? Why not consider adding what Microsoft calls a "storage space?" ...

Discover More

Configuring Windows to Do Backups on a Schedule

Performing regular backups of your system offers you peace of mind because you don't have to worry about data loss in the ...

Discover More

Creating a Hierarchy Map of Your Hard Drive

Want to see how the directories and subdirectories in your hard drive are organized? It's easy to do using the directions ...

Discover More
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

View most recent newsletter.

Comments

If you would like to add an image to your comment (not an avatar, but an image to help in making the point of your comment), include the characters [{fig}] in your comment text. You’ll be prompted to upload your image when you submit the comment. Maximum image size is 6Mpixels. Images larger than 600px wide or 1000px tall will be reduced. Up to three images may be included in a comment. All images are subject to review. Commenting privileges may be curtailed if inappropriate images are posted.

What is one minus 1?

There are currently no comments for this tip. (Be the first to leave your comment—just use the simple form above!)


Newest Tips
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

(Your e-mail address is not shared with anyone, ever.)

View the most recent newsletter.