Recovering a Deleted File

by Barry Dysert
(last updated March 26, 2018)

2

By default, most files that you delete from your system are not physically deleted. Instead, they are moved to the Recycle Bin. This is so you can recover a deleted file if you later discover that you actually needed it.

To recover a deleted file, open the Recycle Bin (i.e., double-click the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop). This presents all of the deleted files using Windows Explorer (Windows 7) or File Explorer (Windows 8 and Windows 10). You can then select the Details view and sort by the Date Deleted column so that the most recently deleted files will be at the top of the display. (Manipulating how Explorer displays its information is covered under other tips.) Find the file you want to restore, right-click it, and click Restore. The file is then removed from the Recycle Bin and returned to its original location. Alternatively, you can drag the file out of the recycle bin to a different location if you so desire.

Naturally, you cannot restore a file from the Recycle Bin if it (the Recycle Bin) has been emptied, so it's a good idea to not empty the Recycle Bin too frequently. Once the Recycle Bin has been emptied, all of the files in it are permanently deleted and it is very difficult to restore a permanently deleted file. (It may still be possible, but recovering permanently deleted files requires the use of other software applications.)

 This tip (12369) applies to Windows 7, 8, and 10.

Author Bio

Barry Dysert

Barry has been a computer professional for over 35 years, working in different positions such as technical team leader, project manager, and software developer. He is currently a software engineer with an emphasis on developing custom applications under Microsoft Windows. When not working with Windows or writing Tips, Barry is an amateur writer. His first non-fiction book is titled "A Chronological Commentary of Revelation." ...

MORE FROM BARRY

Changing the Program Associated with a File Type

Windows allows a great deal of flexibility in what programs it associates with different types of files. If you want to ...

Discover More

Moving Your Page File

It's quite possible to move your system's page file to a different disk. This tip provides the steps you should follow to ...

Discover More

Moving the Videos Library

The Videos folder is one of several system libraries created in Windows by default. This library is specifically ...

Discover More
More WindowsTips

Displaying File Extensions

File extensions help both you and Windows understand how to work with a particular file. By default these extensions are ...

Discover More

Defragmenting a Hard Drive

As files are added, removed, and edited on a hard drive, the files and the disk itself become fragmented. This causes ...

Discover More

Displaying the Number of Files or Folders within a Folder

You can easily determine how many files and folders there are within a folder by making quick use of Windows Explorer or ...

Discover More
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

View most recent newsletter.

Comments

If you would like to add an image to your comment (not an avatar, but an image to help in making the point of your comment), include the characters [{fig}] in your comment text. You’ll be prompted to upload your image when you submit the comment. Maximum image size is 6Mpixels. Images larger than 600px wide or 1000px tall will be reduced. Up to three images may be included in a comment. All images are subject to review. Commenting privileges may be curtailed if inappropriate images are posted.

What is five less than 7?

2018-03-26 08:34:40

Allen

Hugh, I'm afraid that the probability is very high that the file you overwrote is gone. The Recycle Bin is used only for files that you take steps to delete, not for those that are overwritten.

-Allen


2018-03-26 08:22:55

GW Patton


What happens if you accidentally write over a file? For example, I often work with multiple versions open, I have inadvertently saved what I thought was the current best version using the name of a file I needed to keep. If I didn't have backups present, is there an old version in the Recycle folder?


Newest Tips
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

(Your e-mail address is not shared with anyone, ever.)

View the most recent newsletter.