Enabling a Warning before Closing Multiple Edge Tabs

by Eric Wyatt
(last updated July 19, 2021)

Tabbed browsing is very helpful with reducing the number of windows you need on your screen as your surf the web. As you get more used to using tabbed browsing, you may find yourself having multiple tabs open on your system during any given web session. While this is helpful, it can be problematic if you close a browser window in Microsoft Edge Chromium with multiple tabs open; Edge will close the additional tabs of the window without you possibly wanting them all closed.

Edge has a feature that you can enable that will alert you when you attempt to close a window with multiple open tabs. To enable warnings before you close multiple tabs, follow these simple steps:

  1. With Edge open, in the search bar, enter (without quotes) "edge://settings/appearance" and then press Enter. Edge displays the Appearance settings for the program.
  2. Scroll down and click the toggle for "Ask Before Closing Multiple Tabs." This enables the feature.
  3. Continue surfing the web or close Edge. The setting takes effect immediately.

With this setting enabled, every time you try to close an Edge browser window with multiple tabs, Edge will alert you. It displays a simple popup box that asks, "Do you want to close all tabs?" with three options: " Cancel" or "Close All," and a "Don't Ask Again" checkbox. Choose "Cancel" if you want to look through the tabs and see if one needs to stay open. Selecting "Close all" causes Edge to immediately close all the open tabs associated with the window. The last option, the check box next to "Don't Ask Again," turns the feature off. If you click this option by accident, repeat the steps above to reactivate the alert.

 This tip (13885) applies to Windows 10.

Author Bio

Eric Wyatt

Eric Wyatt is a swell guy (or so his friends tell him). He is a formally trained designer and branding expert, bringing a wide range of skills to his Tips.Net articles. ...

MORE FROM ERIC

Enable or Disable Mouse Hover Window Activation

Windows 10 allows for a window to become active by simply hovering your mouse over it. Discover how to turn this setting ...

Discover More

Specifying a Screen Orientation

The orientation of your screen is not limited to the default orientation when you connect it to your computer. You can ...

Discover More

Setting an Account to Automatically Logon

Passwords are a great way to protect the content on our computers. What if you want to login to your system without using ...

Discover More
More WindowsTips

Remove Saved Passwords in Edge Chromium

Having Edge store password information can be a time saver and helpful. See how to remove saved passwords within Edge.

Discover More

Creating a QR Code for a Web Page

QR codes allow for data to be scanned quickly and actions to take place. Use Edge Chromium to create a QR code to open a ...

Discover More

Tracking Prevention

Websites have been tracking users' web traffic for a long time, keeping data on website visits and your surfing ...

Discover More
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

View most recent newsletter.

Comments

If you would like to add an image to your comment (not an avatar, but an image to help in making the point of your comment), include the characters [{fig}] in your comment text. You’ll be prompted to upload your image when you submit the comment. Maximum image size is 6Mpixels. Images larger than 600px wide or 1000px tall will be reduced. Up to three images may be included in a comment. All images are subject to review. Commenting privileges may be curtailed if inappropriate images are posted.

What is five more than 0?

There are currently no comments for this tip. (Be the first to leave your comment—just use the simple form above!)


Newest Tips
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

(Your e-mail address is not shared with anyone, ever.)

View the most recent newsletter.