Toggling Delete Confirmation

by Barry Dysert
(last updated May 23, 2016)

3

For those of us who have been using Windows for a long time, we've gotten used to the ubiquitous confirmation dialog box that appears when you go to delete a file. (See Figure 1.)

Figure 1. The Delete File dialog box.

Many people like this confirmation, whereas others see it as an extra-click nuisance. However you feel, though, Windows gives you the ability to set whether that confirmation appears. How and where you set this is not too obvious, though. Believe it or not, it's done through the Recycle Bin.

If you right-click the Recycle Bin (on your desktop) you'll see a Context menu from which you should select the Properties option. Windows then displays the Recycle Bin Properties dialog box. (See Figure 2.)

Figure 2. The Recycle Bin Properties dialog box.

Note the checkbox at the bottom of the dialog box: Display Delete Confirmation Dialog. A checkmark in that box tells Windows that you want the traditional behavior of displaying the Delete File dialog box where you can confirm that you want to delete the file. However, if you're one who thinks this dialog is a nuisance, just unclick the checkbox and your deletion will occur without you having to confirm it.

Once you've set the checkbox as you intend, just click OK and your setting takes place immediately.

Remember that if you turn off the delete confirmation and then delete a file by mistake, you can still retrieve it from the Recycle Bin. Whether the Delete File dialog box is displayed or not, deleting a file still moves it to the Recycle Bin.

 This tip (1929) applies to Windows 7, 8, and 10.

Author Bio

Barry Dysert

Barry has been a computer professional for over 30 years, working in different positions such as technical team leader, project manager, and software developer.  He is currently a senior software engineer with an emphasis on developing custom applications under Microsoft Windows. ...

MORE FROM BARRY

Using Desktop Themes

Desktop themes allow you to quickly and easily personalize your system so that what you see and hear while working can be ...

Discover More

Viewing Event Logs

Event logs are automatically maintained by the operating system. By periodically viewing them, you'll have a better idea of ...

Discover More

KeePass Password Safe

If you feel overwhelmed by the number of usernames and passwords you have to remember, KeePass Password Safe is your answer. ...

Discover More
More WindowsTips

Changing the Characteristics of the Recycle Bin

Windows allows you to easily configure the properties associated with the Recycle Bin. This tip provides an overview of what ...

Discover More

Resizing the Recycle Bin

The Recycle Bin is a great feature that allows you to recover files that you didn't intend to delete. But you may find its ...

Discover More

Restoring Items in the Recycle Bin

Placing something in the Recycle Bin does not mean it is gone forever. After placing something there, you may change your ...

Discover More
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

View most recent newsletter.

Comments

If you would like to add an image to your comment (not an avatar, but an image to help in making the point of your comment), include the characters [{fig}] in your comment text. You’ll be prompted to upload your image when you submit the comment. Maximum image size is 8Mpixels. Images larger than 600px wide or 1000px tall will be reduced. Up to three images may be included in a comment. All images are subject to review. Commenting privileges may be curtailed if inappropriate images are posted.

What is 5 + 0?

2016-05-23 15:25:11

Barry

Shift-Tab usually goes backward from a previous Tab.


2016-05-23 15:18:28

Art Roberts

Is there a keyboard command that will back tab? In other words, if you tab to a next window by mistake, can you reverse the operation without using the mouse cursor control?


2016-05-23 11:38:22

Scott Renz

And if you don't want to use up space by having them go to the recycle bin, you can click the option to "Don't move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted." After all, I usually delete files to gain disk space.


Newest Tips
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WindowsTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

(Your e-mail address is not shared with anyone, ever.)

View the most recent newsletter.